Mincemeat Bars – Gluten Free and Vegan

IMG_4540_opt
Mincemeat Bars

 

A good friend invited us for tea one afternoon in early December. I brought along this Mincemeat bar. The original recipe – via Kellie @ Food To Glow – was gluten free as witten but, I needed to also needed to be sure it was vegan and make it more of a bar/cookie.

It’s worth noting that most mincemeat in Vancouver is not vegan. My experiance is most traditional mincemeat will usually have beef suet. A big grocery chain nearby does sell an all fruit mincement – this is the one I used.

I altered the original recipe for the base and topping as follows:

600 grams of Oats

120 grams of butter flavoured shortening

170 ml  of Maple Sryup

1 Teaspoon All Spice

1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon

I used the recipe as written for the filling and baking method.

Bakers Notes:

  • the final baking time was about 40 minutes
  • I will make this again and again

Equipment I Used:

IMG_0081_opt
Ready for the Oven
IMG_4539_opt
Ready to Go
3 thoughts on “Mincemeat Bars – Gluten Free and Vegan

Add yours

  1. I’ve never heard of a mincemeat bar, which makes me all the more excited. I love coming across local recipes, and honestly, I’d eat anything with oats and maple syrup, because how good is maple syrup for some much needed sweetness? These look lovely, definitely going to save the recipe for later!

    Would you be interested in sharing recipes with our community of passionate foodies? We’re always on the lookout for fun, new and delicious recipes like this one. You can find us right over here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

